Moleskine = Love and Hate

November 12, 2012 § 4 Comments

I remember how my relationship with Moleskine first started many years ago. I was browsing in Waterstones (Book Store) and I happen to come across a stand that was selling really smart looking notebooks. There were many different styles: Sketchbooks, Lined, Grid, Storyboard and so on. My purchase was the plain sketchbook (which I still have and use) and so began my Love/Hate relationship with the Moleskine range.

A good place to start with my round up is with the positive experiences I’ve had so far. I love the look and feel of the Moleskine. The Black covers look really clean and professional. I’m using a hardback sketchbook which makes it great for sketching or taking notes while I travel on the train to and back from work. The quality of the paper is really good and the pages feel thick and sturdy. A piece of material has been incorporated into the design which allows you to mark what page your currently at which is a nice touch. Another feature that is incorporated into the overall design is a elastic strip that helps keep the sketch book closed while in a carry bag.

Lets have a look at the other side of the coin now. My main writing tool is a fountain pen and so far I haven’t found one that gives me a good writing experience. By writing experience I mean that while writing I tend to find the lines bleed ever so slightly and I get a lot of what I have done showing up on the reverse side. So far what fountain pens I have tried are the Cross, Lamy and Waterman range. I would love to hear from you if you have found a fountain pen that writes well with a Moleskine.

During the last few years either as a gift or a purchase I’ve made, I have accumulated a wide range of Moleskines; Lined, Grid, Plain and Storyboard. The least enjoyable to write in is the lined notebook. The page thickness is so thin that anything I write ends up showing very clearly through the other side. The paper isn’t dense which gives it a sort of see through effect. I have tried Gel, Rollerball and fountain pens but they all show through very visibly.

Overall once I fill the last of my Moleskines completely I think we will go our separate ways for now. What’s next for my notebook journey? I’m not too sure, I would love your recommendations.

Tagged: ,

§ 4 Responses to Moleskine = Love and Hate

  • I use Rotrings, an Esprit & an Initial with cartridges & bottled ink, & both write on Moleskine pages without any bleeding.

  • Paul Silver says:

    I’ve been using notebooks from Moleskine, Leuchtturm and Paperchase for my note taking. The best experience I’ve had is using a Moleskine sketchbook for notes, as there’s zero bleed through. It does feel a little mad to pay that much for relatively few pages though. The standard Moleskine and Leuchtturm pages are both too thin for the sorts of pens I like using.

    For day to day notes I’m using a Paperchase A5 sized notebook. The paper is still a little thin, but they’re fine for work related stuff, and they cost a little less than a mid-sized Moleskine for about triple the number of pages.

    ASDA do a range of notebooks which are obviously ‘inspired’ by Moleskines, but have much thicker stock in it. This would be perfect, if it wasn’t very low quality paper that isn’t much fun to write on. Good if you’re trying to look professional on a tight budget, not good for really enjoying writing or sketching in. So, it’s been back to Paperchase for me.

  • Richard: I will have to look into getting a Rotring down the line. Sounds like they have been working great for you!

    Paul: I agree with you about the Moleskine sketchbook providing the best writing experience. I think it is a case of me finding the best thickness of paper to suit the pens I use daily. Have been looking at the Rhodia range as a possibility.

    Thanks for both sharing your experiences with other notebook brands as well as with Moleskines.

  • jenniesisler says:

    A Quo Vadis Habana is great for fountain pen use.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Moleskine = Love and Hate at Informal Scribble.

meta

